Sponsored by:

Fuel Differences...

Search this Thread

Old 30 July 2006, 05:31 PM
marmski
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel Differences...

I dont want this to turn into a 'price price price, dont buy a scoob if u cant fuel it, whine whine whine) thread, but i was wondering what the differences actually are between standard fuels to 'super' fuels that we all use.

Im a complete noob at this kinda stuff and can grasp the concept but wonder what the reality is. I have always used Optimax, when the price went up to above 100p+ i started to use the cheaper Tesco 99. I have just filled up with Sainsburys 97.

What are the differences, what will 99 do for my engine that 97 wont?

I run a standard MY05 STi, and from what i can understand it should be fine on any of these.

FYI - I can afford the car, and i can afford the fuel. I still refuse to be stiffed @ higher prices if it actually wont matter on my standard tune car.

Let me know your thoughts,
Old 30 July 2006, 05:44 PM
WRX_Dazza
Scooby Regular

Location: Going further than the station and back !!! ZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzz

marmski,
can "you" tell the difference???

if not, you're not driving your car how subaru intended
Old 30 July 2006, 06:31 PM
marmski
Scooby Regular

Well, if im honest.... soo far i havent been able too which is why i asked.

I would love to RR the car with 1 tank of fuel and then another, i cant see the difference being anymore than 10-15BHP and with UK roads where can you really notice those kinda small differences.

The car feels awesome to me no matter what fuel it has (97, 98 or 99) but that might be because i rarely have a good country road where i can open it up.

My concerns / reasons for this post was to ensure with a standard tune car that i wasnt causing any damage internally by using 97 fuel bearing in mind that at the RR i went too it demonstrated that my standard tune is running extremely rich 5k revs onwards.
Old 30 July 2006, 11:02 PM
myblackwrx
Scooby Regular