Sponsored by:

Using your car for work

Search this Thread

Old 29 June 2006, 10:44 AM
Monkeh
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Using your car for work

I have been working for a new company for a few months now but have never understood their car allowance sceme. I think i am loosing too much money with it.. what do you guys think

I get a car allowence of £250 per month for using my own car (scooby)
I am doing abount 25K miles a year

When i submit my Milage my company takes the money out of my car allowence to pay me my milage !!
If i do a lot of miles in a month my car allowence is negative, so i loose money from my wages

The company says that i benefit more because i dont pay any tax on the milage expenses then..

whats your view on this ?
Old 29 June 2006, 10:46 AM
TopBanana
Scooby Regular

LOL
Old 29 June 2006, 10:48 AM
RMA26
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by Monkeh
I have been working for a new company for a few months now but have never understood their car allowance sceme. I think i am loosing too much money with it.. what do you guys think

When i submit my Milage my company takes the money out of my car allowence to pay me my milage !!
If i do a lot of miles in a month my car allowence is negative, so i loose money from my wages

The company says that i benefit more because i dont pay any tax on the milage expenses then..

Sounds like your getting shafted mate!
Old 29 June 2006, 10:53 AM
Steve vRS
Scooby Regular

They are robbing you.

Steve
Old 29 June 2006, 10:53 AM
SivMY05Sti
Scooby Regular

Being Shafted bigtime ! - you should get at least £4,500 a year for the car and get the fuel extra.

You can also claim the difference back from the tax man if they pay less than 40p a mile for business miles.
Old 29 June 2006, 10:54 AM
Monkeh
Scooby Regular

i thought i was.. cheap *** company.. i nearly got in a fight with the finance director last time i talked to them about it..
Old 29 June 2006, 10:56 AM
RMA26
Scooby Regular