ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

REBUILD suggestions? new member

Search this Thread

Old 05 June 2006, 12:44 AM
japsrool
BANNED

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default REBUILD suggestions? new member

hi there people im completely new to the scooby world. i have just moved from a 200sx to a scooby. paid £2900 for a Mreg 70,000miler black wrx with a bit of sti interior an exterior looks. its got a t timer, boost gauge, air filter, BOV an big brake conversion. as ive been told that scoobys are fragile i want to get a rebuild done straight away as ih8 problems, so any suggestions on wat sort of engine components would be ideal, who is tha best around and how much should i pay? this is goin 2 be my first car i wil be doin a rebuild on so i want everythn to be ace moneys not on the agenda.

manys thanks help would be appriciated.

Last edited by japsrool; 02 June 2011 at 06:14 PM.
Old 05 June 2006, 01:00 AM
AVI-8
Scooby Regular

Ok let me get this right, youv'e got a perfectly serviceable 70,000 mile engine, and you want to take it out and rebuild it just for the hell of it??

Why?

It should be good for at least another 70,000 miles unless you want to extract serious power, standard engines are good for over 300 hp, just change the oil regularly.
Old 05 June 2006, 01:22 AM
Spirit
Scooby Regular

Have to agree I've never really understood this 'rebuild it before it goes' sentiment. I have a 80k mile STi and it's running fine for now. If it goes pop I'll fork out to have it rebuilt, but why pay for a rebuild now when it might have another 70k left in it no problem?

I'd take it to somewhere with a 4wd rolling road and get a full health check done. If it's running 100% then leave it be, if any problems are revealed then spend your cash getting them sorted
Old 05 June 2006, 01:58 AM
ALi-B
Support Scoobynet!

Received 301 Likes on 240 Posts