Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

More Newbie questions!

Search this Thread

Old 24 October 2001, 04:51 PM
Danny B
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I've noticed that a lot of people on here keep referring to ppp, as a complete newbie I can only guess (or Google can) that ppp= prodrive performance pack? Is that right?
I went to www.prodrive.co.uk and had a look for more info but couldn't find much.
My question is, is the ppp some sort of engine tuning mod and if so how does it compare to the extra 40bhp you'll get from www.superchips.co.uk for £350 excVAT
I'd be interested to hear the opinions of people who have had the ppp and others who have had the superchips mod.
Sorry to ask such a trivial question, but until last month I wasn't hooked on buying a Subaru as I am now.
Can anyone recommend a good site that explains more on the ppp?
Cheers

Old 24 October 2001, 05:05 PM
SimonH
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cool

Check out the Drivers club site: www.sidc.co.uk/faq.htm there's a fair bit on there that should answer your questions.

I'm no expert but the PPP is fitted by Prodrive (old shape cars) and doesn't invalidate your warranty. It's a new ECU, new intercooler pipework, exhaust back box and centre section. It develops about 240bhp ish and ups the tq considerably too (about 240ft/lbs). Because it's an official mod Prodrive can make lots of money on it and charge about £1900 (shop around and you can get it for about £1650 in places).

I have no experience of SuperChips save what I've read on here but I gather they are generally a bad thing to do to your Scoob. I'll let someone more knowledgeable go into detail though.

Other options are the Unichip and the Link. Both good bits of kit (each one with their own fanclub on this site) and cost anywhere between £500 and £1300 installed and mapped (the PPP has a fixed map). The important thing with these is to get them properly mapped by an expert (e.g. Bob Rawle at BRD is apparently THE Link man).