Advice needed from German Scooby owners

Search this Thread

Old 26 February 2006, 09:48 PM
Steve Whitehorn
Scooby Regular

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
Question Advice needed from German Scooby owners

Hi just want your thoughts guys.

I am now a resident of Barvaria. I want to get a scooby again at some point - and want to work out how I can do this.

I am a big fan of Classics - all my scoobs have been Jap import classics. If I were to stay in England I would probably buy a classic early RA. So you get the feel for the kind of scoob I like.

Anyway I keep checking autoscout - Classic turbo scoobs are fairly non existant. And the one“s that are about are fairly high Km unmodified waggons.

So I could ...
1.Buy a RA in the UK and drive it over. Steering wheel on the right (not very happy with this - will probably spoil the drive,however people have E30 M3s and the like in the UK). How easy is it to change a UK reg car to a German reg? Heard of anyone doing this?

2. Eventualy find a bog standard turbo in Germany - drive it to UK and get it sensibly modded to my driving taste.

So....

How are the German authorities about modified cars?
Externaly I would only get it colour coded (Black or Dark Blue) and some 17in Prodrive OZ alloys on. So It wouldn“t draw too much attention.
Would upgrade the brakes, exhaust, remap etc - usual sensible mods

Is their anywhere in Germany I could get this type of work done?

Or do enthusiasts cars come up for sale?

What spec was the classic 2.0 Turbo scoob in Germany.
I know they deal in PS. Were they 240bhp? 2or4 pot brakes? etc.
In effect were they the same spec as the UK classic?

Are there many people in Germany that know these cars well and can work on them?

Hope you can help. I know the UK scooby scene very well but am lost over here - don“t know where to start.

Thanks
Steve

I am based in Munich - Passau area.
Old 27 February 2006, 09:27 AM
Steve Whitehorn
Scooby Regular

BTTT
Old 27 February 2006, 09:30 AM
Nevetas