4 or 5 doors?

Search this Thread

Old 02 October 2000, 01:09 PM
Scott!
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Hi all,

I am a newbie on this forum and sorry to say I don't own a Scooby. - yet. At the moment I have a Golf GTI ( That would wip JasonM's Cav ) but in the not too distant future I can't see a car with 2 Sparco's and a Roll cage transporting Myself, The wife 2 dogs and a rugrat around too successfully!

What I was wondering is how the Wagon version of the Scooby is affected by the extra box on the back? Does it make it handle significantly differently..

You never see this mentioned in car mags?

Obviously it is not quite as pretty as the 4/2 door, IMHO, and has the distinct disadvantage of not being able to wear a WRC wing but it has got to be the more practical - god I'm sounding old - family car.

Cheers for an help,

Scott!

Old 02 October 2000, 01:19 PM
RichB
Scooby Regular

Cool

If you want a sniff around a 4 door STi let me know, There is someone on here who has a 5 door in the Ringwood area, compare over a beer sometime maybe...your shout obviously
Old 02 October 2000, 01:36 PM
Chris L
Scooby Regular

Smile

I've got a four door MY00 saloon and my colleague has an MY98 Wagon. Got to say there isn't much in it - round the twisty bits it's a case of who is braver rather than one car finding the limits .

I guess that the Wagon is more practical if you have pets (that's the reason my colleague has the Wagon), but I don't think you would be disappointed in either.

Cheers

Chris
Old 02 October 2000, 01:58 PM
Puff The Magic Wagon!
Support Scoobynet!

Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts
Talking

Scott

IMHO there is nothing in it. The difference in curb weight is negligable, the only other difference is the possibility of decreased body stiffness due to lack of rear bulkhead. If thats a problem, get a rear strutbrace. On the possitive side, increased flexibility of load carrying ability & more of a "Q" car.