Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reupholstering... Anyone had a go???

Search this Thread

Old 22 September 2005, 03:11 PM
WRXtra power
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reupholstering... Anyone had a go???

I have managed to obtain enough suede effect upholstery grade fabric to completely reupholster my classic interior and I was thinking of giving it a go myself as the fabric didn't really cost me anything and I don’t really have about £1K just sitting around to pay someone to do it for me.

I have looked into what I would need to do and it looks pretty straight forward (gonna eat those words I know ). Just seams to be a case of pulling the old fabric off, unstitching the panels and using them as templates on the new fabric. Then sowing them all back together and recovering the seats.

Just wondered if anyone had tried it.
Old 22 September 2005, 05:45 PM
RON
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm an upholsterer by trade, admittedly not car seats, but anyway, i did mine, and it took me 8 solid days, and i have the right sewing machine etc...... do not underestimate the job, the front seat covers cannot be removed without destroying the first layer of foam underneath, which then means replacing it with something........ the rear seats were actually quite easy (for me!) but the fronts were a bu66er, still not 100% happy, but it's one of those, 'when i get round to it' jobs...

Good luck if you dare!!

Old 22 September 2005, 08:19 PM
WRXtra power
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by RON