Newbie - STI

Search this Thread

Old 08 October 2004, 03:40 PM
Joescoobs74
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie - STI

Hi,

as the thread suggests I am a newbie. I have just taken delivery of a new STI and had the following observations/questions which I'm sure you lot can help me with. My first impressions of the brakes seem to be that they just don't bite as soon as you touch the pedal? (I'm used to Golf GTI brakes, which were probably overassisted). The gearchange seemed really tight (the Golfs was like stirring mushy peas!) These are all most probably due to the car only having delivery mileage and will loosen up over time. Can someone let me know of their experiences of running the car in and their observations.

Although I haven't scratched the surface in terms of performance (due to trying to run the car in) I did get a glimpse of its power when instead of changing up from 4th to 5th, I went back into 3rd and boy did it go
Old 08 October 2004, 04:20 PM
wrxmania
Scooby Regular

be careful, keep below 4000 RPM for the first 1000 miles and enjoy it.

Around about 10,000 miles it will be quite a bit more loosened off. Brakes are good and very progressive (uprate the pads to something like Ferrodo DS2500 or Pagid RS 4.2.1 for better braking again).

Gearchange is nice and precise and will become slicker with time.

ENJOY IT

Brian
Old 08 October 2004, 04:49 PM
Joescoobs74
Scooby Regular

Thanks Brian. I guess it would be a good idea to set the buzzer to 4000 rpm then!

Cheers
Old 08 October 2004, 04:56 PM
Jamescsti
Scooby Regular

With regards to the gear change, My dad used to have a golf ( Y reg TDI) and I have always found their gear box's to be quite sloppy in comparison to the scooby, it's meant to be like that, don't worry about it
Old 08 October 2004, 06:44 PM
New_scooby_04

Joe.