Sponsored by:

Brand new Subaru...handling question

Search this Thread

Old 07 June 2004, 04:16 PM
LozSTiV8
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brand new Subaru...handling question

Hi, I am new to Subarus and just wanted some advice.

I have just bought a WRX STI Version 8 Type UK. It is brand new on a 04 reg and is quite a nice car. Just wondering if anyone out there has the same concerns as me with the handling. It seems quite tail happy on bends...it just does not feel as stuck to the road as my old Audi TT used to be. Has anyone experienced this or is it just my driving??

Old 07 June 2004, 04:20 PM
scooby L
Scooby Regular

Mine usually understeer's 1st, then the ltd-slip diff kicks in, but the only time I had a "tail happy " moment was when I had a slow puncture and didn't realise it.

Have you checked the type pressures?
Old 07 June 2004, 04:24 PM
JohnMcC
Scooby Regular

I'm no expert when it comes to handling and car dynamics, but could it be the driving? Are you lifting off mid corner? That would unsettle the car and make the back feel funny, could end in a big off too!

Apart from that , I agree check tyres and pressures....What wheels/tyres have you got?

Old 07 June 2004, 04:35 PM
LozSTiV8
Scooby Regular