ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

newbie needing help

Search this Thread

Old 26 August 2003, 04:02 PM
Jotsy
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ok newbie here needing your help

i have been wanting to get a Subaru for quite a long time now, and i am torn between the 98/99 Impreza WRX STi-6 (Type-G) or the new WRX STi Spec-C... however, if i can find a hood that looks like the rally racing version then i'm sold on the Spec-C...

so my question is: is there anyplace where i can find this hood or does it not exist?

or

is there any particular reason why i should pick one over the other?
Old 26 August 2003, 04:18 PM
greasemonkey
Scooby Regular

ok newbie here needing your help
Okay, we'll try and go easy!

i have been wanting to get a Subaru for quite a long time now, and i am torn between the 98/99 Impreza WRX STi-6 (Type-G)
Eh? There's no such thing as a "98/99 Impreza WRX STi-6 (Type-G)"
The STi version 6's are MY2000 (STi5 is MY99 and STi4 is MY98), and they're available in Type R and Type RA flavours.

or the new WRX STi Spec-C... however, if i can find a hood that looks like the rally racing version then i'm sold on the Spec-C...
Hood? Bonnet? Roof scoop? Intercooler scoop?

so my question is: is there anyplace where i can find this hood or does it not exist?
Need to know what you're asking about. If you're referring to the roof scoops, you can get these from various places, although, to be honest, they're a pain in the a*** to fit, look very Max Power and not really practical on a road car.

If you're referring to the bonnet scoops, you can buy them from Subaru dealers as well as aftermarket suppliers.

If you mean the bonnet itself, with the extra air exit behind the front mount intercooler/radiator, you can buy these from the likes of Rallytech in carbon fibre for the bugeye (MY01-02) shape, and I presume you'll also be able to get them for the MY03 at some point in time.

is there any particular reason why i should pick one over the other?