Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Twin turbo legacy and optimax

Search this Thread

Old 20 February 2003, 02:06 PM
GTB
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just seen all these posts about Optimax saying that you should never run the Scoob on anything else (and booster is also recommended). Is this also true for my imported MY94 2 litre Legacy engine as well - cos I've been running it for 18 months on ordinary unleaded (and performance seems v acceptable.) Are the engines basically the same in this respect?

What would happen if I went onto Optimax (& booster) from here on? More harm than good?

Old 20 February 2003, 02:42 PM
JJamess
Scooby Regular

I always ran my Legacy B4 RSK on super unleaded or Optimax, if i wanted more power i would throw in a octaine booster, i used Pro-boost. It helped for sure. I was told the japen spec cars which mine was were set for 100 octaine petrol and there is a crystel microphone on the engine which lisens for engine pinging caused by poor fuel, when it detected pinging the ecu limited the engine power to protect itself.I don't know if this is true could be an old wifes tale i'm no expert.
Old 20 February 2003, 08:02 PM
GTB Limited
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Run mine on 97 or optimax.

Covered 75k, all UK, and still in one piece.
the ECU is self monitoring on TT's, so if it does det, it'll retard the ignition.

If you want all the avaliable power, run octane booster as well.

Hope this helps

Mark

Old 20 February 2003, 09:20 PM
The Scorpion
Scooby Newbie

Wink

JJamess,hi from nz i've got a 1999 RSK B4 Legacy . what year is yours?,not that it matters much,which year all very nice

[Edited by The Scorpion - 2/20/2003 9:22:02 PM]
Old 21 February 2003, 09:10 AM
GTB
Scooby Newbie

Thanks guys.....
Old 21 February 2003, 09:45 AM
MRK_IV
Scooby Regular