Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The motor industry

Search this Thread

Old 02 October 2001, 12:36 AM
Shif
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I was after some friendly advice. I'm just entering my final year at uni and am applying for jobs, preferably in motorsport, but any part of the motoring industry. I thought that scoobynet would be just the place to ask for advice in such a matter.
Old 02 October 2001, 12:39 AM
SDB
Scooby Regular

Hi Shif

What kind of job are you looking for?

All the best

Simon
Old 02 October 2001, 12:50 AM
Shif
Scooby Newbie

I'm looking for anything. Unfortunatley, I don't have any engineering or mechanical qualifications, but i have spent my formative years fitting engines and restoring several classic cars. I'm studying Economics and would enjoy a job in any related field. Thanks.
Old 02 October 2001, 01:20 PM
SDB
Scooby Regular

Hi Shif

OK.. well I know this isn't much help.. but some suggestions to send a letter to are :-

Jaguar
Rover
Lotus
Prodrive
Ralliart
Ilmor
TVR
Ford
etc

It is almost certain that one of them will have a position that may interest you.

It's not an easy industry to break into at a high level, but possibly far more doable at junior / trainee level?

It might be best to decide which direction you want to take though in terms the type of job you want.

Good luck

Simon
Old 02 October 2001, 01:49 PM
DavidRB
Scooby Regular

Not sure if they still do it (but I think they do), but the best place I know for motor industry and motor racing related addresses is the annual Autosport directory.

Back in the old days, I had to buy my copy. These days, you can get the same information for free from their website. Go to
Old 02 October 2001, 07:44 PM
rr_ww
Scooby Regular

I work in the retail motor trade. I have always wanted to work in motorsport. Beleive me, and Ive been trying for years it's VERY VERY hard to get in without previous experience. (in motorsport at the level you want e.g. F1, WRC)