Sponsored by:

Where to go skiing over new years?

Search this Thread

Old 02 October 2001, 12:19 AM
Adam M
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi,

need some refommendations, dont scare that it isnt scoobyrelated, cos no one seems to be moderating, and if it does get moved, so be it, will still have had at least the moderators attention.

Group of friends, about 7 inc me, are going skiing over new year.

most borarding but some skiing. Some absolute novices, some intermediates, and me, courageous, but not entirely with the skill to back it up, doesnt mean I dont want to go off piste big stylee though!

I think we arent looking for full or even half board, but I have no idea where we should try.

I am thinking three valleys but I need something to suit all of the above criteria.

Does anyone have any good recommendations?

any help would be appreciated!
Old 02 October 2001, 12:41 AM
Ian E
Scooby Regular

Can definitely recommend the three Valleys - I've been there about six times and always stopped at Val Thorens. It tends to be a bit cheaper than Meribel / Courchevel but the night life isn't quite as good.

I'd have thought a catered Chalet would be ideal for your group. You normally get breakfast, afternoon coffee/cake and a three course evening meal. Wine is also included.

I always travel on the snow train. This means you get nearly eight full days Skiing (as opposed to six flying). The train travels overnight both ways and there is a bar/nightclub carriage

The web site for Val Thorens is
Old 02 October 2001, 12:42 AM
firefox
Scooby Regular

Hi there..

Try Tahoe.. fantastic place for Xmas/New Year

J.
Old 02 October 2001, 12:55 AM
gregh
Scooby Regular

Tignes/ Val D'Isere the height almost guarantees snow.

Or try the USA Colorado or I spent a superb new year in Jackson Hole (probably not a good place for beginners)

cheers,

greg
Old 02 October 2001, 01:10 PM
RonaldoH
Scooby Regular

Cool