Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Boy racer problems...

Search this Thread

Old 15 October 2002, 11:47 AM
peelo
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Reading the current thread on here and knowing how often this comes up on other car forums... I was wondering.

Since the problem seems to be related to specific Marques: Citroen / Peugeot, Vauxhall etc. if it might be time to hold manufacturers accountable. May seem mad, but this has been done with shoe manufacturers and street crime in the States.

Also Citroen very much market and sell the Saxo as a first car, including free insurance.

My first car at 17 was a Datsun 260Z which cost me an arm and both legs in insurance, so I treated it very carefully and although I had a fair few motorway thrashes & did the odd handbreak turn in an empty car park, I was a very carful young driver, which you have to be in a car like that which is the antithesis of driving something like a Saxo at 17.

Old 15 October 2002, 11:50 AM
swan
Scooby Regular

There's no incentive for the manufacturers, esp. if/when it's precisely that image that sells the car and is the reason they invest in F1/Rallying/whatever in the first place. Interesting comment about the shoe manufacturers, much easier in the USA to litigate/sue, etc. so there was probably more incentive.
Old 15 October 2002, 11:59 AM
peelo
Scooby Regular

Yeah I appreciate they have no incentive, but there is this whole thing happening where companies have to understand if they don't take an active involvement in their products after they have sold them, they will loose in the long run. If enough people kicked off and started pointing fingers at the specific companies they would listen. If for example fleet managers started to say they were going to go with someone else because they didn't want to be associated with marques who are essentially promoting illegal and stupid behaviour.
Old 15 October 2002, 12:08 PM
JoeyDeacon
Scooby Regular

Talking