ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Pop Pop Pop....

Search this Thread

Old 04 February 2000, 07:54 AM
RoShamBo
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
All

On high rev changedowns I can hear a distinct "pop" coming from the exhaust (SS Backbox)
While I love it - My wife keeps saying - "whats that noise - your car sounds rough" What do they know - eh?
Anyway - what is it?
Is it un-burned fuel or something & is it OK like this or should I get it looked at.
Must admit though - does sound cool....

Ro
Old 04 February 2000, 11:29 AM
Tim
Scooby Regular

I'm not an expert...

I think this is a sign of the car over fuelling itself, the pops are a common characteristic of the SS Back Box.

Over fuelling is OK, shows a healthy 'rich' engine.

Hopefully Pete or somebody more knowledgeable will confirm the above.

I have an SS BackBox on my 94WRX and would like a few more than the very rare pops from my exhaust.. want to swap!

[This message has been edited by Tim (edited 04-02-2000).]
Old 04 February 2000, 01:05 PM
Fullonloon
Scooby Regular

I too think its perfectly ok.
brrrrrrm change gear pop, brrrrrrmmm change gear pop, but on saying that this morning- I blipped it a little to spin up and then gave it some coming out of a turn and the damn thing didnt move very quick- it was being retarted?
eased off straight away - changed up - and it was back to normal. Still get a pop every now and again.
Old 04 February 2000, 02:43 PM
Craig H
Scooby Regular

Got SS backbox, downpipe and blitz induction on my STi. Pops and farts like you wouldn't believe. Sometimes makes people jump going thru villages/high streets! Wife thinks it sounds stupid. I agree they know nothing. Sounds how Subaru would want it too I reckon.
Old 04 February 2000, 05:53 PM
MorayMackenzie
Scooby Senior

Hi Guys,