Sponsored by:

STI Advice

Search this Thread

Old 05 November 2014, 09:51 AM
fl@ four
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default STI Advice

Hello! Having lusted over a Scooby for a number of years, I’ve finally decided to take the plunge into Impreza ownership. Apologies if my questions are raised on a regular basis, I’m a complete noob to this forum and having looked through the sticky content and tried some searches, I still have some gaps.

I’ve searched around for a buyers guide but didn’t come across anything other than the one posted here. I’ve got my eye set on a blobeye STI, are there any common gremlins or nuances that I should be wary of?

Although I’m fairly handy with a spanner, I’d favour reliability over something which is more track oriented, so I’m leaning towards a low mileage STI with PPP and no further mods. However, are there common upgrades that are widely recommended?

Thanks in advance and looking forward to being part of the community!
Old 05 November 2014, 11:00 AM
Carnut
Scooby Regular

Hi buddy, whats your budget?

If you've looked across this site you will probably be aware of the issues with the 2.5 so the obvious choice is a widetrack blob sti (2005 2.0 or import 2.0). If you prefer the hawkeye/hatch (2.5) there are ways round the reliability issues, ie forged pistons which can be factored into the price (2k-3k) or you can buy one that has already been done with out too much of a increase in price.

Subaru's require good fuel (v-power etc) and benefit from recent and good oil changes so above all, try and get a car owned by a enthusiast with lots of paper work. The for sale section on here can often have good cars, either way if you see something you're interested in then post a link of said car and SN is normally more than happy to help and have a look over the car.

P.s DON'T BUY FROM CHESHIRE PERFORMANCE
Old 05 November 2014, 11:35 AM
fl@ four
Scooby Regular