Other Marques Non-Subaru Vehicles

Paint protection for a new car?

Search this Thread

Old 20 January 2011, 11:03 AM
Dingdongler
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Paint protection for a new car?

The arrival of the new car is about a month away and I'm thinking about some sort of paint protection. I've never done this before as this is only the second brand new car I've ever bought (out of about 15 cars)

I'd quite like to sell this car privately in 2-3years time rather than trading it in like I usually do so the healthier the paintwork looks at that point the better.

BMW themselves charge about £300 odd quid for some kind of polish but I've heard it's way overpriced and they usually get the garage dogsbody to apply it and so often isn't properly done.

Any suggestions on whether it's worth trying to protect the paint and if so how?

Cheers
Old 20 January 2011, 11:35 AM
Matteeboy
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Mine was Supagarded for free. It's usually overpriced but works a treat on the BM. Easy to clean too.
Old 20 January 2011, 12:34 PM
zip106
Scooby Regular

If you're wanting to stop stone chips from peppering the front end then the only real solution is Paintshield or similar - http://www.paintshield.co.uk/ - loads of the Porsche chaps swear by it.

I've been told by many detailers that the Supaguard you have from a dealer actually costs no more than £40.00 - obviously won't stop usual chips etc.

It's one thing I'd never ever have applied to my cars for the simple reason it just won't polish up as well as one that's been properly detailed and waxed, and it's a rip-off. (ok, that's two reasons )

I wouldn't have it even if it's free.

One other thing Ding, is that keeping the car - especially from new - well waxed will ensure it looks good in 2 years time.

I'll be having our new one fully detailed within a week of getting it.

Last edited by zip106; 20 January 2011 at 12:36 PM.
Old 20 January 2011, 12:47 PM
stilover