Other Marques Non-Subaru Vehicles

Small car advice.

Search this Thread

Old 30 January 2008, 07:38 PM
fatherpierre
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Small car advice.

I have foolishly agreed to find a female friend of mine her 1st car.

As some of you will know I only really do 6 and 8 cyl old merc and the odd BMW - usually around 25 yrs old ++++.

I'm thinking Fiesta - she has around £550 and ebay has loads of N, P, R reg ones at the price. I have zero knowledge of this end of the market, and would appreciate any suggestions other than Festas.

Ta.
Old 30 January 2008, 08:04 PM
robby
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Micra, Polo, Suzuki swift?
Old 30 January 2008, 10:22 PM
34srm
Scooby Regular

go for a jap, honda , toyota, nissan
Old 30 January 2008, 10:22 PM
The Chief
Scooby Regular

A fiesta i would imagine would be perfect, maybe the 1.3 a bit agricultural but tough as old boots - dirt cheap parts as well
Old 30 January 2008, 11:08 PM
projectsubaru
Scooby Regular

watch out for rust on the atches particularly on mk3 fiestas but still bad on mk4/5
Old 31 January 2008, 10:11 AM
Brendan Hughes
Scooby Regular

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

At that price wouldn't Jap be more reliable? honda civic of sorts? N, P, R reg are about 10 yrs old by now?
Old 31 January 2008, 10:11 AM
rossyboy
Scooby Regular

Received 94 Likes on 58 Posts

watch out for rust on the arches particularly on mk3 fiestas
Absolutely. Fiestas of that era rust like hell and has put a lot of them to a premature death. I personally wouldn't even consider them.

Trending Topics

Old 31 January 2008, 04:20 PM
brickboy
Scooby Regular

A mark 1 punto is also worth a look, the shells are galvanised so they rust very slowly and they're pretty reliable.

The big weakness on the 1.1 (55) and 1.2 (60) FIRE engines is the head gasket, this tends to go by #1 cylinder.