Notices
Other Marques Non-Subaru Vehicles

1st generation rx7 with 2.8v6 boltons?

Search this Thread

Old 19 August 2006, 04:21 PM
sharpydoo
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st generation rx7 with 2.8v6 boltons?

i posted here the other week about an 1984 Rx7 im interested it, it has a 2.8v6 from a 1978 granada, a few people said the engine is ****, but changing the engine could be a mission and a half, especially as im only learning. what options do i have to mod the engine for more power? and how much will it cost? and any idea what performance im likley to get from the standard V6, and how much i could improve it on a low budget?

any helpfull advice would be appreciated. cheers
Old 19 August 2006, 04:30 PM
J4CKO
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Get one of these, stick the motor in the RX7, dont bother with the old 2.8 lump, can be tuned but they are pretty wheezy old things and it would cost a fortune, much better to put the 24 valver in, asuming theres clearance.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/FORD-GRANADA-C...QQcmdZViewItem
Old 19 August 2006, 04:33 PM
NotoriousREV
Scooby Regular

If it's a fuel injected motor then it'll have 160bhp (if it in good nick) or about 130bhp if it's a carbed motor. Given that the original rotary motor only had 100bhp it should be quicker than the standard car (which was 0 - 60 in about 9 seconds). Don't expect it to be a fireball, but it'll be respectable.

As for tuning, don't bother. The 2.8's are expensive to tune and don't give much return. Bolt-on's such as filters etc. won't do much for power and getting the heads ported would only give about 20bhp.

As was mentioned on the other thread, get a 2.9 24V V6 motor from a Scorpio (off eBay for pennies), it should practically bolt straight in where the old 2.8 sat. The only hard part is fuelling. Probably best to do a search and see if anyone does a carb conversion for this motor.
Old 19 August 2006, 04:44 PM
sharpydoo
Scooby Regular