Rover 216 coupe

Search this Thread

Old 09 April 2004, 12:41 AM
kammy
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Rover 216 coupe

hi,
I am hoping to get my hands on one of these cars. Does anyone have any constructive comments regarding them??
i have about £1500 to spend on one. I want one with the DOHC k-series rover engine, which came on the 1995- models. Are these motors worth the extra cash, as i dont like the idea of the SOHC honda engine (D16), with high miles too as they are older and more primative??
also the later models, came with twin-airbags, side-impact bars and seat belt pre-tensioners and im a duff driver, so these may come in handy!
Is there anything i need know about these cars, such as elements of the vechicles that do not last over time? Hope you can help me, as i have just seen a terrible P-plater, and did not even sit in it for closer inspection!!
cheers Kambo
Old 09 April 2004, 08:52 AM
J4CKO
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

My dad bought a minter for a grand, he's into bikes so cars are a bit of a non event performance wise but it seems ok, I had a MK2 Golf GTI 8 valve with a few little mods and that was quicker but the 1600 isnt too bad, reliability wise, just chuck it an oil and filter occasionally and get a cam belt change as a matter of course. Whether its a Honda or Rover unit, I would opt for the Honda one if its done more miles, I was under the impression they were all Honda's in the 1600 variety, my dads is an N reg and thats the Honda motor, K series is a good engine but it wont put up with bad maintenance and miles quite as well as the Honda, just look at the humber of Taxi's and Curry Carriers with Honda motors.

With regards to which to go for, they are getting very cheap nowadays so go for the best spec you can get for 1500, I would imagine a P plate 96 is within reach at that money, try Rover dealers for part ex's as thats where my dad got his. best really to go for condition rather than age/miles really.