Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Another Employee Rights Thread

Search this Thread

Old 07 September 2013, 01:54 PM
GlesgaKiss
Scooby Regular

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Another Employee Rights Thread

Hi all, just thought I'd gather some opinions on this situation.

I work in the construction industry and work away a lot. On Tuesday my employer wants me to drive around 8 hours from maybe 2- or 3am on Tuesday morning and then, when I arrive on site, to work until 6- or 7pm. So if I leave at 3, get there at 11 and work till 6pm, that would be 8 hours travelling and 7 hours of work, or 15 hours of work as some may look at it.

Now I know that travelling time isn't considered the same as work, but this isn't travelling to a permanent place of work in the same sense as a daily commute, and it's also 15 hours where I will be at my employers disposal, so to speak.

What I was wondering was whether this was even legal and if I am within my rights to refuse? A more reasonable scenario to me would be to do a shift driving and then perhaps arrive and be inducted/see what the score is on the site ready for the next day. Something like a normal 9 hour shift.

The other option that was suggested by my employer was to do a 9 hour shift on Monday and drive down after it on Monday night! Both of the requests are ridiculous in my opinion (however, that doesn't mean I won't do one of them, as I've had 3 pay rises in the 11 months I've been with them, which is down to my work and ability to put up with stuff like this, i.e. make things easy for them), but I'd like to see what you all think.

I should add - I do know about the 11 hours of uninterrupted rest, but is travelling time in this case taken into account as working time and therefore taking me over the 13 hours per day that my employer can have me working?

Last edited by GlesgaKiss; 07 September 2013 at 01:58 PM.
Old 07 September 2013, 02:01 PM
Midlife......
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts