Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Property developing....

Search this Thread

Old 29 November 2012, 06:02 PM
BLU
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Property developing....

Anybody on here do it for a living/hobby/extra income?

Got some money due to me and was thinking of going part time in work and investing my money in doing this. Starting off slowly with the intentions of making it a full time business.

I'm a trained bricklayer by trade so thats most of the building work/plastering side covered but I can turn my hand to most things and anything I can't I know someone who can!!

So if you've done it, how did you find it......... all feedback, positive and negative and any tips, pitfalls etc would be gratefully appreciated
Old 29 November 2012, 06:09 PM
BaojeeX
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Depends what you're doing it for. Buying a property, fixing and selling up?

Or buying a property for renting out?

All I can say is do as much as you can yourself as it will keep costs down, electrics/gas if you're not sure of get an expert to do them. Try stick to your budget as much as you can, sometimes you will go over it.

If you do it for renting out a property buy cheap and cheerful as tenants don't care about how much you've spent, they'll trash the place regardless, especially if they're students!

The quality of work is crucial, as it really does make a difference. You want something to last and last, and not have to go back to it 100 times. The property market at the moment is a buyers market, so if you're looking to invest, do buy a property which will pay for it's self (rental, and net you a bit of pocket money.)

I'm not an expert in this field, though I have some experience in it.

Oh and also, you will uncover a lot of bad issues in a property at times, just always make sure you have spare £££ to put that right.
Old 29 November 2012, 07:01 PM
BLU
Scooby Regular