Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Where do I stand, legally?

Search this Thread

Old 02 November 2012, 01:17 PM
Scooby-kid
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where do I stand, legally?

I'm having serious issues with the Student Finance Company at the moment.

I’m not really sure where I stand on this one – apart fromskint, and virtually homeless! I would appreciate anyone who may be able tosuggest my next port of call as I now have no idea whatsoever. Apologies forthe long post, I’m just going to tell you anything I think might be relevant.

I’m currently a university student, and this year is myplacement, which basically means I’m taking a year in industry to gain someexperience before finishing my degree.

I’ve been having major issues with the student loanscompany. The long and short of it is that they withheld £2900 from me duringthe last academic year (my second year of studying) as I apparently haddocumentation missing from my account regarding my parental income (this is howthey judge how much support you’re allowed) I supplied them with the royal mailtracking numbers which proved that my evidence had been delivered, to whichthey just said I still can’t prove what was in them and it may not have beenthe evidence they requested.

From this point they wanted copies of this again, originalcopies may I add. Now this is difficult as my parents live abroad at the momentso getting wet signatures on documents is time consuming, and as I had alreadypaid the accountant to produce me a letter, I would have to pay again foranother.

When on the phone to student finance, you are not allowed tospeak to other departments, and they will not give you the names of a managerto address any correspondence to.