Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Teaching Kids the value of Money ?

Search this Thread

Old 08 May 2009, 12:38 PM
J4CKO
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Teaching Kids the value of Money ?

Seeing as NSR is getting so quiet and boring, a new thread !

My eldest is thirteen and a half, bright lad but currently doesnt get the value of money, I was taught from an early age how to make money by my dad as he used to sell cars he bought from auction and as a engineer by trade he had the skills to make them saleable at a profit.

He used to tell me anything I wanted to know, how much he paid, what it stood him at, I used to get involved (hindered probably) but he then used to sell it from the house and then come in and gleefully show me the cash he had made, this was the early eighties so making a hundred quid on a car was a result and we werent exactly rolling in it so it made a big difference, I have done the same but my wife forbids me from going into any detail with the kids, her family dont talk about money, its all a bit distasteful whereas I think it is a valuable lesson in making your own way and not waiting for handouts.

I always had the will to make a few quid, I asked for some money one day and was told no, so aged 12 I went and got myself a paper round, used to do every round there was if someone didnt turn in, the morning, evening, Sunday and Pink Final football paper, I also did Tomato Picking, worked in a Bakery, Valeted Cars and sold confectionary at school bought from the cash and carry, until some git in the year above nicked the idea.