Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Golf - As in sport

Search this Thread

Old 23 April 2008, 02:46 PM
MattW
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Golf - As in sport

Going to have a go at this as i've given up the 5 a side. got my first lesson this evening. Any tips for a complete novice?
Old 23 April 2008, 02:49 PM
mamoon2
Scooby Regular

Go through the ball smoothly, don't try and hammer it! and keep your eye on the ball, if you don't and look up as you hit the ball will shoot off track.

Thats all i know
Old 23 April 2008, 02:52 PM
Paul3446
Scooby Regular

Keep your head down, even after you've hit the ball. One of the most common mistakes is to look to see where it's gone as soon as you hit it.

Don't try to hit it too hard.

If you're at a driving range, don't be tempted to retrieve the ***** that only go 10 yards!
Old 23 April 2008, 02:58 PM
Paul3446
Scooby Regular

What do they say about great minds again?

If you lift your head you will probably find the ball goes along the floor.
Old 23 April 2008, 03:07 PM
Graz
Scooby Regular

I thought I'd take up golf a few years back. Had some group lessons at the local driving range, very useful as it taught me the basics.

Best advice I can give is to start slowly, don't expect to be hitting the ball hundreds of yards with a driver after your first few swings. Try a fairly open faced iron first, e.g. something from a 7 to a wedge. Practice chipping and as you get better at that start swinging the club further back for longer shots until it's above waist high (half swing). The your ready to try a few full swings, don't swing it too far back otherwise you'll be off balance.

It's a very frustrating game (probably why I don't play any more!) and the only way to get good at it is practice, practice, and more practice. Even the pros have to play quite a few rounds a week to keep their eye in.