Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Employment Contact - Working Hours

Search this Thread

Old 09 January 2008, 07:26 PM
David Lock
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Employment Contact - Working Hours

Can an Employment Contract say that working hours are say 9.00 to 5.30 but that you will be expected to work extra hours if workload demands it? This in private sector. Seems a bit too open ended to me? dl
Old 09 January 2008, 07:35 PM
LostUser
Scooby Regular

I work in IT and the contract I signed said that I may be required to work out of hours on occasions. Not exactly the same but similar. It comes with the job so I had no problems signing it.
Old 09 January 2008, 07:38 PM
DCI Gene Hunt
Scooby Senior

Yes they can, mine has that as well as them being able to dictate certain holidays while also having the added benefit of relocating me to anywhere in the world (including third world sh1tholes)
Old 09 January 2008, 07:40 PM
gazza-uk
Scooby Regular

think of the money
Old 09 January 2008, 07:40 PM
Sonic'
Scooby Regular

Mine says 'may' not 'will' big difference but it is fairly standard in employment contracts has been for as long as I have been in work (some 20 odd years)
Old 09 January 2008, 07:46 PM
David Lock
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by gazza-uk
think of the money
I don't think there is any intention of paying any extra for this.

For my daughter btw. Her first proper job so I was just doing some homework 'cos she would never ask. And she would work through the night* if they asked her I am sure. d

* No smutty jokes p l e a s e........
Old 09 January 2008, 07:47 PM
Lisawrx

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Think that open ended wording is quite common. My contract states my contracted hours (not the actual times but amount of hours), but says I must be available to work more if required, and be flexible to change my normal working time with 24 hours notice, if possible.

Trending Topics

Old 09 January 2008, 07:51 PM
Lisawrx