Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

heathrow protestors.

Search this Thread

Old 19 August 2007, 12:34 PM
j4ckos mate
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default heathrow protestors.

its detrimental to my job because i work in the air cargo industry, but i think enough is enough, no more airport expansion now.

i remember the new runway at manchester,
you can go for a walk around where the new one is built and it devastes the countryside.
Old 19 August 2007, 12:44 PM
Snazy
Scooby Regular

Its a tough one, but clearly much needed.

Enviromental impact is not a nice thing, I certainly agree there.
Just running out of space in this flippin country theses days
Old 19 August 2007, 12:44 PM
NAF
Support Scoobynet!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

you working at heathrow jm ?
Old 19 August 2007, 01:00 PM
Leslie
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by j4ckos mate
its detrimental to my job because i work in the air cargo industry, but i think enough is enough, no more airport expansion now.

you can go for a walk around where the new one is built and it devastes the countryside.
An honest and sensible post.

Les
Old 19 August 2007, 01:10 PM
Snazy
Scooby Regular

One thing I was amuzed about regarding this story, was the irony surrounding the mini bus service they are running from the local station to save protesters the 10-15 min walk (so im told). Hope its battery or LPG !
Old 19 August 2007, 02:01 PM
FlightMan
Scooby Regular

Sorry I don't agree.

Some facts about aviation, the climate camp protestors and Heathrow.

China is planning to build 108 new AIRPORTS in the next 10 years. Heathrow wants 1 new runway.

There is no "countryside" around Heathrow to devastate! Its a few fields between the existing airport, A4 and M4.

If Heathrow looses its hub status, and there is real evidence to show that Schipol and Frankfurt are becoming the hubs of choice now, the west London employment figures will nose dive, and the national economy will suffer.