Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

New Driveway required

Search this Thread

Old 23 April 2007, 04:06 PM
gixer6
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question New Driveway required

As part of the ongoing improvments to our new home I need to have the bombsite that is the current driveway restored back to the real thing!!

I'm considering either Pattern Imprinted Concrete or good ole Tarmac.

Can anyone recommend a reputable company (ie no pikeys ) around the Fleet, Hampshire Area ??

Thanks in advance for any help given.
Old 23 April 2007, 04:20 PM
simpsons !
Scooby Regular

Location: A Yorkshireman living in Lancashire, Recruiting for the War of the Roses part deux!

Forget Pattern imprinted it's a nightmare, Slippy when wet and if you have services under your drive and they need to get to them it can't be patched! You have been warned.
Check here for the good stuff Tobermore This is where i work as a manager.

Simpsons
Old 23 April 2007, 07:21 PM
Luminous
Scooby Regular

Block paving can be a pain to maintain, although it does look nice.

Issue include weeds coming through the cracks, sagging in the drive from where you normally park, and having to clean the blocks. Yes, all drives need to be cleaned, but trust me, cleaning blocks is so much more time consuming.

No doubt someone will come on here and say that a properly laid drive will never sag. If you park a car in the same place for ten years, it is going to show to some extent. All the people whom I know who have block drives have either relaid bits of them, or have sagging areas.

A set of friends of ours have imprinted concrete, they swear by it. Looks good and with a lot less maintenance than blocks. Of course, it is still not as practicable as tarmac.
Old 23 April 2007, 08:01 PM
simpsons !
Scooby Regular

Location: A Yorkshireman living in Lancashire, Recruiting for the War of the Roses part deux!

Originally Posted by hutton_d