FAO electricians

Search this Thread

Old 06 December 2006, 02:52 PM
suprabeast
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FAO electricians

Hi guys,

Finished a degree in electrical and electronic engineering this year and i've been working for the same company for the last 6 years designing and building small satellites.

Had a thought a few weeks ago that while i'm still continuing to work in the days, I would like to carry on learning at an evening class and learn a trade as well.

Now since my natural area is electrical, I thought it might be an idea to look into training to be an electrician. After going online and looking at courses at colleges I was pretty shocked to find about 6 different types of courses all for a number of years. So what I really want to know is, if I wanted to be able to (in the future) set up on my own as an electrician, what quals would i need?

I saw courses for NVQ's different levels, Domestics installers, wiring regs, part p. Can anyone explain simply what is required?
Old 06 December 2006, 02:56 PM
davegtt
Scooby Senior

IIRC this is the main one you will need, I may be wrong though

BS7671 Wiring Regulations: Requirements for Electrical Installations - The IET
Old 06 December 2006, 06:09 PM
AudiLover
Scooby Regular

I think you will have to start with the NVQ's mate. You could probably jump straight into level 3 due to your background but you will need to find a employer that will hire you which does something relevant to the course.

Why do you want to be an electrician after all those years at Uni? I know its good easy money etc but just curious
Old 06 December 2006, 07:14 PM
PPPRob
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by suprabeast
Hi guys,

Finished a degree in electrical and electronic engineering this year and i've been working for the same company for the last 6 years designing and building small satellites.