Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

House prices will not crash

Search this Thread

Old 20 November 2006, 08:34 PM
GOLDMAN 555
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default House prices will not crash

I've been expecting a house price crash for about four years now. And I have to say for the first time in four years I'm starting to believe that there will be no correction.

The economy is too strong.

I think I will just have to sit here in misery wishing I could afford a bigger house.

Smug property investors.....you were only bloody right
Old 20 November 2006, 08:42 PM
stilover
Scooby Regular

They were right the last time too. Just before the last house crsh. D'oh

What goes up, must come down.
Old 20 November 2006, 08:43 PM
Ben v7
Scooby Regular

Going to need high interest rates such that the buy-to-let bubble bursts before you see any real movement.

I am renting and have been for years just waiting for it to crash, but no, just keeps on rising!
Old 20 November 2006, 08:49 PM
Petem95
Scooby Regular

America's housing market is currently crashing rather heavily, and every time this has happened before, the UK market has followed 18-24 months later. (Unfortunately their economy is very likely to go into a recession next year, and that will have implications for the World economy, and thats not good - houses could fall in price 60%, but you cant buy if you dont have a job...)

Also recently theres been a massive increase in the number of properties available on the Irish and Spanish markets, so looks like they could be heading for a softening in prices.

As soon as it looks certain prices will heading downwards, investors will pull out and invest in other areas, and this will create a downwards spiral.