Social work

Search this Thread

Old 16 March 2006, 08:09 PM
nickwrxstiV2
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Social work

Basically, the g/f wants a career move!

She's interested in social work, but, does not have a relevant degree. Anybody have any ideas what to do? She doesn't want to go back to Uni for 3 years again, we can't afford it!!! Can she do any other 1 year course or something to gain a relevant qualification?

Anybody with experience????????
Old 16 March 2006, 08:37 PM
Clarebabes
Scooby Regular

I can't really help with a magic answer, but I work in the careers industry, working with younger people. We use http://www.fasttomato.co.uk/ as a resource. It may not be for her age, but will give you an idea.

We also have a programme which will list how to get into a certain career. If you want me to look it up tomorrow, I will. Just let me know.

Just as an afterthought, what about her trying volunteering in a youth club or similar type organisation. Companies always want relevant experience even if it is unpaid.

Oh, and don't expect her to become a millionnaire doing social work....
Old 16 March 2006, 08:49 PM
Clarebabes
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by Connexions Direct Website
Field social workers help and support people during difficult times in their lives.
With other professionals, they try to help clients find solutions to their problems. Social workers develop relationships with them, and their families and friends, and gain their confidence.
They may work with children and families, adoption and fostering, in healthcare settings or in mental health social work.
Social workers usually work irregular days and hours, often on a rota, to provide 24-hour cover, or normal office hours in medical settings. Their time is split between the office, clients' homes, day centres, hospitals and health centres, and they need to travel around.

Salaries start from £15,000, and senior social workers earn up to £28,000.