Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Is ebay just getting a bit pricey?

Search this Thread

Old 15 January 2006, 08:19 PM
ADP
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Is ebay just getting a bit pricey?

Ive been using ebay for 3 or 4 years now and always seemed fairly happy with what it cost me.......however recently I sold 4 or 5 things, total value 500 ish quid................and somehow £42 worth of ebay fees!

Thats heading towards 10% - all sorts of fees, insertion fee, picture fee, final fee this that and the other..........have the upped rates?? I never remember feeling robbed on ebay but I do tonight!
Old 15 January 2006, 09:28 PM
apples24
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

like everything successfull it well end up being a victim of own success

i sell cars on ebay imagine my fees lol i remember one month i had a 250 quid bill !
Old 15 January 2006, 10:12 PM
Petem95
Scooby Regular

The costs look even steeper when you include Paypal fees which take the pis$ a bit especially when you've sold lots of low value items - you are looking at about 10% in paypal fees alone then, then you have to add the Ebay listing and final sale % fees

I dont think the basic Ebay listening and final value fees have really increased much though to be honest - the Government wanted a slice of the action a few years back and made them add VAT, but other than that Ive not really noticed much of an increase since I started using Ebay, 6-7years ago (cricky, doesnt seem that long!).

The main problem with Ebay now is all the scammers, and Ebays apparent unwillingness to tackle the problem.
Old 15 January 2006, 10:14 PM
TopBanana
Scooby Regular

Value-added niche alternatives to ebay will appear in time... watch this space!
Old 15 January 2006, 10:22 PM
eldudereno
Scooby Regular

Value-added niche alternatives to ebay will appear in time... watch this space!
Was just thinking that myself....a little competition is all we need.