Moral dilemma

Search this Thread

Old 02 August 2005, 11:29 PM
talizman
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Moral dilemma

Well kind of......

The wife is pregnant with our first child, so I'm kinda new to all this stuff.

I thought that it was just a case of having a quick drink fuelled fumble, and 9 months later a healthy sprog pops out, but apparently not.

At her scan the midwife explained all about the various tests that can be done, and asked whether we had decided to do them or not.

The tests I refer to are the Downs Syndrome and Spina bifida (sp)

We cannot decide whether to have the blood test which will categorise us in terms of high or low risk.

Apparently the high risk category have the choice of a further test to confirm whether the baby has either condition, however the test itself carries a risk of inducing miscarriage.....

Part of me wants to know, but part doesn't.....

So many moral questions.....

If the test proved positive, do you abort, or do you take on one of the biggest challenges of your life?
Do you worry about what "people" think by taking the decision to abort?
Does it make you selfish, or a bad person if you go down this road?
Or do you forget about the tests and wait and see what hand fate deals you and pray for a healthy, happy child?

Sorry for such a dry and morbid topic, but its playing on my mind big time.

Any thoughts or experiences to share?

Last edited by talizman; 02 August 2005 at 11:58 PM.
Old 02 August 2005, 11:36 PM
sti-04!!
Scooby Senior

John,

I got told about this test today from a 3rd party

I got tel to phone the hospital & we have an appointment on friday to discuss this amongst other things

I personally am not going to risk either tel or the baby

If its unhealthy then so be it but they way i see it my first is ok & neither of our familys have a history of any life threatening diseases or disabilties so i will take the risk
Old 02 August 2005, 11:42 PM
talizman
Scooby Regular