Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Hi End HiFi - 2 Channel Speaker Positioning

Search this Thread

Old 22 December 2004, 03:32 PM
Alan C
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hi End HiFi - 2 Channel Speaker Positioning

Haven't had one of these threads for a while!

Did some toeing in & out the other day a feel that this is one of the bigger sound enhancing 'tweaks' that can be done. Regardless of speakers.

Ended up with the speakers firing straight at me with the crossover just behind my head...

I've been firing straight into the room for many months and everything has now gained a lot more focus. Rather than a woolly unfocussed edge to everything the soundstage has really taken a decent 3D feel to it.. Bass has tightened and the general timing has been sharpened up considerably..

All in all, a crackin evenings work. Tape measured the speakers to within a couple of mm of each other, so that I'm as close to even as I can be (without going stupid).

Highly reccomended if;
  • You want to change the feel of your sound to something a little different.
  • You have changed your room around a bit and have upset the acoustics.

Last edited by Alan C; 22 December 2004 at 03:35 PM.
Old 22 December 2004, 03:44 PM
messiah
Scooby Regular

Location: Surviving as a soldier of fortune on the Los Angeles underground...

Slightly off-topic but...

how much of a difference to sound quality does bi-wiring make? Got the facilty to do this but never bothered - is it worthwhile?
Old 22 December 2004, 03:44 PM
TelBoy
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by Alan C
(without going stupid).

You're just not trying hard enough!

In fact, i had the opportunity to listen to a pair of Martin Logan Aerius at the weekend. Very different sort of sound to what i'm used to, and when i first heard it, i wondered whether there was something wrong with them, as it seemed quite uninvolving.