Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Travel question from a total novice.....

Search this Thread

Old 10 November 2004, 08:09 PM
RON
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Travel question from a total novice.....

Guy's, I'm considering going to the states early next year, to do a sort of fly drive deal, what is it that you need to even get into the states now, and has anyone got any hints tips or ideas.

Cheers.

ron.
Old 10 November 2004, 10:50 PM
RON
Scooby Regular

No-one been to the states recently then.......
Old 10 November 2004, 11:07 PM
jjones
Scooby Regular

the people at the car hire place will try the

"you will look like a tourist in that car - get this upgrade for only $400 and you will not get robbed"

tell them to fkcu off
Old 10 November 2004, 11:11 PM
tiggers
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ron,

As far as getting in no need to panic mate, the media have been at it once again. Providing you have a machine readable passport from a country that is in the US Visa Waiver scheme and no convictions or arrests etc. you will be fine.

If your passport has two rows of letters and numbers on the bottom of the photo page then it's machine readable. If it's a UK passport then your fine as the UK participates in the Visa Waiver scheme. If it's from another country then you will need to check if the country is in the Visa Waiver scheme - let me know if you can't find out as I have a list somewhere.

When you book your flight you will be asked to give advance passneger information - this is basic stuff like your name, birthday and passport number - this is forwarded to US immigration just prior to you flying - nothing to worry about.

During your flight or sometimes just before you will be given a customs form and green visa waiver form to fill in - all simple stuff (name, address, dob, passport number etc.)