Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Setting up a plumbing business

Search this Thread

Old 12 October 2004, 07:53 PM
Clart
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Setting up a plumbing business

I’m getting well pissed off now working for someone else and I think it’s time I set up on my own. I’ve been working for someone now for eight years and I’m sick of earning bugger all and lining someone else’s pockets! (I’m a plumber by the way)
So Scoobynet I’m asking you guys for advise, how would I go about setting up my own plumbing firm? Where do I start? What do I do?

Any thoughts or advise appreciated!

I think my main obstacle is getting customers. How do I get custom?

I’m good at my job and I know my stuff, but working for myself will be a whole new ball game!
Old 12 October 2004, 07:59 PM
Jap2Scrap
Scooby Regular

Dunno how you'd go about getting customers as a newbie. I wouldn't trust a plumber not to rip me off nowadays. Too many, 'watchdog', 'rogue traders' type programs on tv.

Best of luck though
Old 12 October 2004, 08:05 PM
wakeboardar
Scooby Regular

a skint plumber bloody hell now theres a thing

waky (skint chippie)
Old 12 October 2004, 08:12 PM
RR
Scooby Regular

I am a qualified gas central heating engineer, i was given 28 days notice today. I am being laid off (as are 4 other engineers). People will tell u theres loads of work out there, i have yet to see it. We work for a multi-million pound company which is feeling the pinch. My m8 is a self employed corgi reg engineer and he is selling his 12 month old 206 180 gti, as he cant afford it due to lack of work. Dont believe the hype. Good luck!!!!!!!.
Old 12 October 2004, 08:26 PM
MJW
Scooby Senior

Check out Business Link's startup page

Get some industry accreditation, and stick an ad in the yellow pages
Old 12 October 2004, 09:23 PM
mattsan
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by RR