Do you enjoy your job?

Search this Thread

Old 27 August 2003, 09:00 PM
AndyC_772
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Hi all,

Earlier this year I started a new job with an electronics company. The money is good, but the atmosphere is oppressive, my boss is from another planet, and despite the fact that I'm a fully qualified design engineer I'm spending my time doing jobs that are, frankly, beneath me.

Thing is, I can't help wondering whether I'm being unreasonable in wanting a job that I enjoy AND which pays well. Do they exist Should I really be bothered by the fact that I'm not really developing professionally?

I'm not doing any of the sort of work that keeps my knowledge and skills up to date. It's quite possible that the longer I stay in this job, the less employable I'll become.

Some of you may know already that what I really enjoy doing is taking photographs - I find it a great way to relax and be creative, and seeing a great image gives me a sense of satisfaction that I miss at work. I've considered packing in electronics and turning pro, but then I'm worried that I'd just spoil a hobby I really enjoy and take a massive pay cut into the bargain.

Has anyone made such a radical career change? Did it turn out to be a good idea?

Advice please - I think I have a big decision coming up.

Ta
Andy.
Old 27 August 2003, 09:06 PM
Freak
Scooby Regular

well
i could have got a 'regular' job/career

Instead, i chose to pursue djing.
Now i am in the position of getting paid a lot for doing something i love and would do (and had to do when i initially started out) for free....
I am thankful and very lucky to be in such a position- but i also work very very hard- which is made easier by it not feeling like hard work because i enjoy it so much (if that makes sense)

You only live once, and a large percentage of that time is consumed by work- so you might as well enjoy it

if you dont- you will always wonder 'what if' etc..