Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Built-in (or integrated) fridges

Search this Thread

Old 06 October 2002, 10:07 PM
stu200
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

The developers of my new house have had, (what appears to my mind to be) a brain-fart, and designed the kitchen to have an integrated fridge in the base unit next to the double electric oven.

Now, I'm no rocket scientist, but I know that ovens get hot and fridges get cold.

Would it not be the case that whenever you put the oven on, the thingummy* for the fridge will then have to work twice as hard as normal to keep the fridge cold ? If that's so, it'll whack up the electricity bill somewhat Or is it that these things are designed to be placed next to each other nowadays, so I'm worrying over nothing ?

Cheers, Stu

* whatever you call the bit that makes the fridge cold
Old 06 October 2002, 10:40 PM
RON
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'm sure it would make better sense to not have them next to each other, but I expect they must design in that situation nowadays, Just imagine a kitchen with, dishwasher, oven, washing machine, tumble dryer, where the hell would you put the fridge???????
It'd always be next to something that gets warm!
Old 07 October 2002, 08:51 AM
dnb
Scooby Regular

As said, it's not ideal - I'm avoiding that situation in the new kitchen I will be installing shortly. However it should work OK. The fridge will just have to work a bit harder, but it shouldn't get that much worse than on a hot summer's day. Remember the oven isn't going to be on all the time.
Old 07 October 2002, 09:17 AM
chiark
Scooby Regular

It's not too bad as said. Some design principles have a working triangle of fridge/sink/cooker... Sounds like yours will be rather small.

On the technical front, the compressor might run a bit more on the fridge. More worrying would be that one side of the fridge might not be as cool as the other when the oven's on...