offshore engineer

Search this Thread

Old 25 March 2014, 01:11 AM
JP360
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default offshore engineer

hi all,
im currently a mechanical engineer and have been looking into offshore work, does anyone on here know much about it or work offshore I can fire a few questions at?

cheers JP360
Old 25 March 2014, 07:57 AM
borderlinechris
Scooby Regular

try RA Dunk for info he might me able to help you. being a mech eng, you might have better luck than me trying to get offshore( trying since aug `13) you will need offshore tickets (BOSIET,MIST,) at the very least to get going. good luck!
Old 25 March 2014, 10:24 AM
LEO-RS
Scooby Regular

What do you want to know?

Step 1. Without BOSIET/MIST/OGUK Medical on your CV, chances are your CV will end up straight in the bin, oil and gas recruitment is crazy and like no other market, you have 100 people fighting for every 1 job, without the basic certificates your chances are next to zero (unless you get extremely lucky)

Survivex is probably the best place to go, they have a deal on at the moment for BOSIET/MIST for £599 (Medical a further £140)

This requires a week off work, a train ticket to Aberdeen and 5 nights B&B/Hotel. Aberdeen is extremely expensive during the week, normal travelodge type room is about £150 per night (Offshore industry for you) So budget £750 for the certificates, £500-£750 for accommodation, the price of a train/plane ticket and a week off work (5 day course)

Then you will come across the minefield that to get offshore you need to have experience, without experience, no helicopter ticket. There are a few ways Around this,
1) Working in Aberdeen in an onshore role, getting used to the equipment and then going offshore on Ad-hoc to get this experience to then apply for rotational positions.