Notices

Quickie about knock sensors

Search this Thread

Old 20 April 2008, 07:02 PM
AshMurc
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Quickie about knock sensors

hi, i have a JDM '97 WRX wagon and i'm wondering how generic knock sensors are? Are they the same for all 2l imprezas?? I heard they have differnt plugs..?

i'm very new to imprezas and as you can see i'm not too sure!

Thanks for reading
Ash
Old 21 April 2008, 11:56 AM
harvey
Former Sponsor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I am not exactly clear as to what you are asking Ash. The Subaru has its own knock sensor fitted at the rear near side of the block. This sends signals to the ECU.
For added protection of the engine, many owners add a Knock Link. This is a stand alone unit with its own Bosch Sensor, possibly the same as that already in use on the car. The K.L has a smallish black box and a series of five LEDs, two green, two orange and a red or white. There is also a sensitivity screw. The plan is to have good enough fuel/map so that you do not get any knock or DET as this is a bad thing. Lift off immediately on DET unless you want a damaged motor.
Old 21 April 2008, 12:13 PM
AshMurc
Scooby Regular

thanks Harvey

What i was meaning was how interchangable are the knock sensors between models? e.g. will a '95 WRX sensor fit my JDM '97 WRX, etc (i'm looking on Ebay...)? I'm getting a code 22 (kock sensor), and even after resetting, running on V-power AND octane booster the CEL flashes back on with code 22. This is while driving though town at 30mph, very sensibly in 4th gea. MAF sensor has already been changed.
Old 21 April 2008, 07:34 PM
harvey
Former Sponsor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I would expect that a M/Y 95 and M/Y 97 knock sensor on a Subaru would be the same. I buy very little from e bay because of the fake gear, theives etc.
Can you hear any unsatisfactory engine noise as you drive?
Does the light come on as you rev the engine when standing still?