Notices

Whats all this about the light's being cr*p then???????

Search this Thread

Old 01 March 2000, 11:35 PM
RON
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question

I picked up my new Turbo today and have just got back from about 3 hrs driving in the dark, the thing is I don't think that the lights are all that bad, of course it could just be the fact that I've been driving around in a sha**ed old Mini for the last 5 months to save some pennies.
Opinions of new car owners would be nice.
Are the lights the same as the 99 cars or have they made them better cos they new I was getting one??????????
Old 02 March 2000, 07:26 AM
PaulL
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ron,

Hope you like your new toy! I expect you to pop down to Poole to show it off very soon

I've tended to find that that the dipped headlights on just about every other car I've owned have some auxilliary light around the main area being illuminated, allowing me to see (to some extent) just that little bit further. My MY99 lights seem to have a more defined "edge" to the lit area. Hence there's a nice bright patch in the road in front of the car, and then beyond that - absolutley nothing!
(Hope that makes sense - at least I know what I'm talking about!!)

As for the standard main beam, it's a joke. It seems to have plenty of distance, but no brightness. Best described as driving along tunnel which is being lit by a continuous row of candles

Thank god for my PIAA's

Paul L
Old 02 March 2000, 06:36 PM
IainT
Scooby Regular

Smile

RON
I know what you mean, last night I waited till it was dark, and I do mean dark (no street lights round these parts) then took the car out for a spin expecting a black hole. What a surprise to find that they're no different to my previous car?!
I was left wondering what all the fuss was about too
I agree with Paul tho' about main beam it could do with being brighter, think PIAA's are next on the list.
What mileage are you upto now Ron?
Old 02 March 2000, 07:00 PM