Notices
Insurance Subaru Impreza insurance can be expensive, as with any performance car insurance. But the cheapest car insurance isn't always the best. Share your quotes, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What exactly counts as "no claims"?

Search this Thread

Old 10 August 2001, 07:08 PM
boomer
Scooby Senior

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I have been driving company car for 18 years now, but as i am due to be made redundant, i need to buy my own car - with my own insurance.

I have ZERO points, and have had no accidents in over ten years.

I asked Zurich insurance for a claims history letter (for the last five years) to back up my situation.

To my <B>horror</B> there are three claims. The first was a replacement windscreen (and flagged "no to blame"), the second was "other" and again, "not to blame", and the third, which is still pending, is another windscreen replacement.

Will these "claims" affect any future "private" policies?

I am just a bit miffed that my company, or rather the lease company, made three claims on my behalf, without my knowledge, and that i might suffer because of this.

Any thoughts or advise?

mb
Old 10 August 2001, 10:31 PM
MTR
Scooby Regular

Wink

Boomer,
The windscreen claims should make no difference at all.
The 'other' claim is a little bit awkward, as even though it is classed as non fault, I would expect an insurance company would want to know the details. Who else was involved, what happened etc.

If you cannot provide these details, they may be a little bit suspicious.

If it can be proven to be a genuine non fault claim, then providing you are insuring a normal type car, (not group 20) then you should be ok, and recieve full no claims discount.

Perhaps I am a touch cynical, but I would find it hard to believe that all insurance companies completely ignore all non fault claims.