ICE Serious sounds for serious cars.

Subwoofer enclosures

Search this Thread

Old 06 November 2000, 10:32 PM
Scooby Doc
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Thanks to Niall from Eire (Venting Bass)

Anybody got any experience of building subwoofer enclosures. Seems like for an afternoons DIY I can save myself enough to have 2x10" subs instead of 1.

From what I've seen on the internet there appears to be a bit of science behind it - does this matter that much for in car use say compared with the home?

If the dimensions of the box are specific to a particular subwoofer than I can't believe the stack of boxes in my local ICE shop are that special.

Thoughts please. Chiark?

Martin
Old 06 November 2000, 10:51 PM
mattski
Scooby Regular

the science does matter :O) I used to be a sound engineer before getting a 'real' job and it must be right for the driver to operate effectively.

There are probably some pretty good freeware programs around for enclosure design that take into account driver characteristics, try doing a search on
Old 07 November 2000, 01:31 AM
Mr.Cookie
Scooby Regular

Martin

All the subs i've bought have given enclosure size as either a volume needed (example say 5 litres) that they work with ported and non ported just need to design box to theese requirements or actual box design like the MFI type instruction. Sorry cant remember equation would just say make sure you use 18mm MDF and to include thickness of MDF in calculations.

Simon
Ps non ported are a damn site easier to get right and save having to work out port length
Old 07 November 2000, 07:00 PM
Scooby Doc
Scooby Regular

Thanks guys.

There is also a website at
Old 08 November 2000, 08:36 AM
chiark
Scooby Regular

Sorry, been out of communication for a couple of days...

In short, "size matters".

Designing the box can be done using something like "Perfect Box", which is an ageing DOS program, or check freshmeat as Mattski says.