ICE Serious sounds for serious cars.

Sub Boxes - Stealth Installation

Search this Thread

Old 02 August 2002, 01:17 PM
BEL
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I have a pair of 12" subs mounted in a twin box. However, the box is quite big, it doesn't fit tidily and it takes up quite a lot of boot space.

I've been thinking about taking the subs out and trying to make 2 separate smaller custom boxes with some MDF which could fit at the corners of the boot behind where rear lights are. (Like a kind of stealth installation).

I'm no expert in this sort of thing so if anyone has a similar, or even an alternative instal can they please post some pics to give me some ideas. Ideally if anyone has a box template or dimensions/ sizes, I'd really appreciate it.

Cheers
Ian
Old 02 August 2002, 01:23 PM
chiark
Scooby Regular

Not exactly what you asked for, but a thought.

If you wanted to gain space, you could use the 2 12s in an isobaric configuration. This is where you effectively bolt the two speakers together, face to face (with MDF inbetween!) and wire them out of phase.

Advantage: less space requied as the box volume compared to what you need for 2 subs is now quartered!
Disadvantage: you lose 3dB of output. MUST be fed identical signal, ideally off the same channel of amplification

Just a thought...
Old 02 August 2002, 04:02 PM
BEL
Scooby Regular

Thanks for the quick response Chiark. I'm not sure what you mean here though. Do you mean just bolt two subs together face on and then buid a ported box round them ? ..a pic would be useful if you have any.

Cheers
Ian
Old 02 August 2002, 04:05 PM
chiark
Scooby Regular

Have a quick look on the net for isobaric and you'll get loads. Build a sub box as normal, then just bolt another sub on the front of the one you fix in the box. You see the back of that sub then
Old 02 August 2002, 05:42 PM
Paul_M
Scooby Regular