Hatchback STI upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 06 February 2013, 11:56 PM
welshy23
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hatchback STI upgrades

Hello all,

I have just purchased myself a STI hatch.

Name:  98507830-676F-49FD-92B0-262AB094EE0E-22095-0000150D6FFF7A3C_zpsdb252bd5.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  369.9 KB

Now i am looking for a few things and advice. I have gotten some good advice from rob84 which i am most grateful! But i dont want to pester him all the time!

So basically, im after a more grunty noise from the exhaust note which the standard lacks also better breathing from the car. Now im not really after a whole new system and preferablly to keep the cat! Now im new to the turbo scene and im getting so confused with all the jargon and what inch pipe is going to straight swap ect! Now i have been told to change the downpipe, to what?... Is there two cats on an STI and removing one will still pass an MOT? Could anyone link me to some down pipes!

Secondly i would like more from the air intake. I have been looking at the K&N Typhoon but hearing mixed reviews... What have people got and what do people like?

Im not after massive gains as i've heard the standard engine cannot handle much more over 350 without problems in the forseeable future... Maybe a remap later on after i've sorted out the breathing aspect. I also have handling issues i want to fix aswell! The boat like sway in the higher speeds is downright awful imo! Although i did come from a clio200cup go kart!

If anyone could direct me or offer me any parts they have for sale i may be intrested in i would be very grateful!

Regards Sam
Old 07 February 2013, 02:40 PM
Wayne STI
Scooby Regular

Hi Sam,