Search this Thread

Old 13 August 2012, 04:10 PM
2006_wilson
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 03 wrx engine issues 2 days after buying :(

Hello Guys,
Ok so i just bought a 03 Wrx paid £3500 for it,
Drove it home it was fine, drove it the next day the oil light flased up at me, i checked it and it was fine,
Next day i was driving it home and the oil light came on, engine cut out and lost power, started it back up and really loud tapping noise from the front right side of the engine (if your sat in the drivers seat front left if your looking in the engine bay, by the turbo)
I had a mecanic look at it today and he has diagnosed it as the bottom end????
I have a 99 impreza 2000 turbo that the bottom end went on and it sounded completely diffrent, it was a grinding noise under load, this sunds like the tappets but i am no pro at engine issues.
Just concerned as a few threads i have read say they had the same problems and it was a oil blockage and the tappets werent getting any oil.

Need some help guys as i have only had the car 2 days and a engine swap is going to be pricey,
Cheers for the help in advanced.

Cheers lee
Old 13 August 2012, 04:12 PM
tubbytommy
BANNED

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

the oil light doesnt mean low oil
it means low oil pressure.
the pump could have failed then the car would have no oil pressure and possibly this is what has killed the bottom end.
if the bottom end has failed the engine will need a rebuild, nothing else will cure it
Old 13 August 2012, 04:18 PM
2006_wilson
Scooby Regular

I havent driven it since but started it for the mechanic, and when you rev it the tapping gets quicker as well sounds like the old fords with noisy tappets??
Old 13 August 2012, 04:30 PM
scoobiewrx555
Scooby Regular

I suggest you go back to whoever you bought it from and have it out with them.

Goods have to be of merchandisable quality whether used or new, sold commercially or privately.