Notices

couple of questions really

Search this Thread

Old 06 March 2012, 07:24 PM
Fast63
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default couple of questions really

couple of questions really, new to the scoobys and done a bit of research on the one i have, its a 95 wagon wrx, what ive read off here tells me its a 220, which i had this idea of all imports being 260 but never mind.
its fully standard and as i got it fairly cheap was wonering which route to take for reasonable power mods, i was only after 270-80 ish if thats easy enough to achieve, if not 250ish would do. im going to start with an exhaust and then maybe a panel filter and remove the resonater pipe thingy, now what i was wondering was could i swap the ecu for one which is compatable but ups the boost a little(stop me if im wrong please, im a noob) to achieve my goal. ive read about the uprated fuel pump walbro 255, is this needed for what i want? is there an easier alternative?

thanks for any help
Old 06 March 2012, 07:30 PM
mickywrx
Unmapped 12.4s @ 105

Location: Newcastle. 330bhp-289lb/ft @ 1bar boost - 12.4s @ 105mph
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Fuel pump is a wise upgrade, especially if yours is the original fitted.

Decat exhaust and a decent panel filter would be a good move for the power level you want.

Ecu swap is fine, depends what turbo is fitted to your wagon though.

Edit to add, all of the above you can do yourself, the hardest part will be the downpipe swap.

Where about's in Yorkshire are you? Can point you in direction of people that can help if you need it.

Last edited by mickywrx; 06 March 2012 at 07:33 PM.
Old 06 March 2012, 08:10 PM
Fast63
Scooby Regular

thanks for the speedy reply, to get a good result from the exhaust is it best being right through or will cat back help? im in bradford, west yorkshire. if my turbo is the td04 which i think it is on that car, what boost can i run?

cheers
Old 07 March 2012, 09:18 AM
mickywrx
Unmapped 12.4s @ 105