Notices

2002 WRX STi type uk PPP - But TLC required... Suspension, Wheels & Tyres advice?

Search this Thread

Old 22 January 2012, 11:41 AM
Gallen
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 WRX STi type uk PPP - But TLC required... Suspension, Wheels & Tyres advice?

Hi there.

Firstly I should say hello again! It's my first time back to posting on Scoobynet since selling my Classic to a mate a year or so ago now.

Anyway, I saw my old car just after Christmas and realised how much I missed the flat 4 rumble... Its such a cliche but very true!

Cue looking on eBay for HOURS every day. Initially I was looking at classics, but then the Newage prices attracted me... But for what I was thinking if spending I couldnt afford the beast I wanted. However persistance along with a bit of luck I ended up buying over the phone. After a 12 hour round trip, I now have a 2002/02 WRX STi Bugeye Type uk with the PPP kit and 6 speed box!!

Happy doesn't even begin to describe it! :-D
(you may have seen her on eBay 2 weeks ago).

I bought her as a bit of a project.
That sounds a bit harsh as she looks almost pristine and has clearly been loved - BUT under the surface of the wax and shiny paint she does need a bit of money throwing at her to get her back to how she should be.

First job:
I am looking to fully replace the suspension; All 4 x shocks,springs etc*(the shocks on the car are the red type) as the rear n/s suspension on mine has collapsed. I could get away with replacing the shock (a possibility and cheapest option)... but want to keep the car mint so might do all 4 if I can find a set.

- I have heard that the STi type UK PPP "may have" an extra fitting bracket for an addition anti roll bar? (i'm not an expert yet - so you guys will know more about this than me obviously!!!) Basically I just need the right ones!