New owner / Basic Mods

Search this Thread

Old 28 June 2011, 01:33 PM
Scooby Newbie Doo
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New owner / Basic Mods

Hi All,

I have just purchased my first Impreza, it is the wagon '99 2000 Turbo.

The car is completely standard and has 127K on the clock. I am a complete novice when it comes to cars/engines etc, but i am very keen to learn.

Firstly are there any mods i can do to improve fuel consumption.

I would also like to know about mods such as exhaust, air intake and dump valve, the best most effective etc.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Adam
Old 28 June 2011, 01:45 PM
EOEUMC
Scooby Regular

Hi there and welcome

To best way to save fuel and lower the cost, would be to buy a different car altogether Or jack it up and take the wheels off. Impreza and low fuel consumption don't usually go in the same sentence.

You got to have that flat4 burble, so at least change the back box to a larger aftermarket one
And it depends on what you want to do with the car. If you start changing air filter etc then (correct me if I am wrong someone) you will be looking at using more fuel

Last edited by EOEUMC; 28 June 2011 at 01:52 PM.
Old 28 June 2011, 01:56 PM
Scooby Newbie Doo
Scooby Newbie

Yes, quite agree lol,

Is it worth changing the air filter or are the standard ones good enough?
A decent backbox was going to be the first thing on the shopping list also.

Not overly bothered about fuel otherwise i would never have bought the car, just an idea.

Also as i dont know much about the history of the car, would an ECU reset be a good idea?

Thanks for the reply. :-)
Old 28 June 2011, 02:17 PM
Dougmy06wrx
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Buy a k&n or cosworth panel filter! With the miles the car has done best giving it a good service before doing ecu reset! If you reset it then you won't find any fault codes that the car might have!

Doug
Old 28 June 2011, 02:25 PM
Scooby Newbie Doo
Scooby Newbie