Notices

Up-pipe - good fitting?

Search this Thread

Old 06 June 2011, 08:19 PM
RS_Matt
Scooby Regular

Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Default Up-pipe - good fitting?

Took the car to DLM Auto services in Darlington today for an Harvey Smith up-pipe fitting, I took a pic of the fitted pipe (just for progress threads) and a few people on facebook and one on here have said it's been poorly fitted.

I thought I heard something break off under the engine and hit the underside of the car hard as soon as we got it back on the road but I'm no Subaru expert, does it look normal? Looks to be a nut missing and someone says it's all been bonded with black silicone.

Last edited by RS_Matt; 09 June 2011 at 12:21 PM.
Old 06 June 2011, 08:35 PM
stringostar
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i have an upipe and mine looks the same.. there is a nut missing off the stud on the right hand side, where the bracket is.. they are a stupid thread size, like a 10mm metric fine! also, feel the black gunky stuff... if its hard, then its black exhaust paste.. if its rubbery, then its silicon sealant.... wont hurt the car if it is sealant..

Last edited by stringostar; 06 June 2011 at 08:37 PM. Reason: t
Old 06 June 2011, 08:53 PM
RS_Matt
Scooby Regular

Good stuff! When you're not as clued up as most on the mechanical side you worry about everything.
I don't think I could get a nut on the stud anyway now as it looks threaded to hell.
Old 06 June 2011, 08:56 PM
stringostar
Scooby Regular

the problem i ad with mine is the nut to the left of the one which is missing on yours, on mine was missing.... i couldnt find a nut to fit, so i got some vice grips, unwound it, and put a nut n bolt thru.... from what i rememeber all that bracket does it keeps the turbo rigid... but to be honest, mine hasnt got the bracket on and it runs fine...
Old 06 June 2011, 09:16 PM
shep_UKSpec
Scooby Regular